Skip to main content

Rams Shortlisted For FL Award


16:17 20th February 2013

by DCFC Media

The shortlists have been announced for the 2013 Football League Awards.

The Football League has announced the shortlists for the Football League Awards 2013, and Derby County have been nominated for one of the awards.

The annual awards ceremony celebrates on and off pitch excellence across the League’s 72 clubs, and this year there are a total of 17 awards with the winners being announced at the gala ceremony at the Brewery, London on Sunday 24th March 2013.

A total of 24 clubs have made the shortlists for the eight categories announced, and Derby have been nominated for the Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year award.

Richard Heaselgrave, Chief Commercial Officer at the Football League, said: “The Football League Awards are a great way to celebrate the work that goes on behind the scenes at each club, as well as the action that has taken place on the pitch each week.
“To make these shortlists is a real achievement, bearing in mind how many and the quality of the entries we’ve had once again.  I would like to wish all those nominated the best of luck and we look forward to announcing the winners on the evening.”

The shortlists were drawn up by a panel of judges on 5th February 2013, following a stringent assessment process. Judges included influential members of media, sports industry figures and representatives of the Football League and its partners.

The shortlisted awards are shown below:

Family Club of the Year

AFC Bournemouth
Brighton & Hove Albion
Cardiff City
Doncaster Rovers
Oxford United
Plymouth Argyle

Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year

Cardiff City (Cardiff City Community & Education Foundation) - South West & Wales
Charlton Athletic (Charlton Athletic Community Trust) - South East
Derby County (Derby County in the Community) - Midlands
Huddersfield Town (Huddersfield Town Football In The Community) - North East
Tranmere Rovers (Tranmere Rovers In The Community) - North West

Perform Best Use of Digital:

Birmingham City
Bristol City
Crystal Palace
Leeds United
Plymouth Argyle
Swindon Town

Tokio Marine Unsung Hero Award

John Harriss - AFC Bournemouth
Billy Neil - Millwall
Peter Rhoades-Brown - Oxford United

PFA Player in the Community

Inigo Calderon – Brighton & Hove Albion
Alan Lee – Huddersfield Town
Mark Roberts – Stevenage

LFE Apprentice of the Year – Championship
Dimitar Evtimar - Nottingham Forest
Duane Holmes - Huddersfield Town
Bernard Mensah - Watford

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League 1

Luke James – Hartlepool United
George Willis – Sheffield United
Drey Wright – Colchester United

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League 2

James Allen – Rochdale
Tyler Harvey – Plymouth Argyle
George Sykes – Barnet

    Related Articles