Derby County has confirmed its retained list following the conclusion of the 2023/24 Sky Bet League One season in April.

Captain and midfielder Conor Hourihane is to depart after leading the side to promotion back to the Championship.

Striker Dwight Gayle, goalkeeper Scott Loach, midfielder Korey Smith, striker Martyn Waghorn and goalkeeper Joe Wildsmith are also moving on, leaving with the club’s very best wishes for the future.

Forward Tom Barkhuizen and long-serving defender Craig Forsyth have activated performance-based clauses in their contracts to extend their stays with the club by an additional year.

Midfielder Liam Thompson has had an option in his contract taken up for a further 12 months, while young midfielder Darren Robinson has signed a new two-year contract until 2026.

Striker James Collins and Academy graduate Louie Sibley are in discussion with the club over their futures.

First Team

First-team players under contract for 2024/25

Tom Barkhuizen, Sonny Bradley, Eiran Cashin, Callum Elder, Tyrese Fornah, Craig Forsyth, Nathaniel Mendez-Laing, Curtis Nelson, Ryan Nyambe, Darren Robinson, Jake Rooney, Liam Thompson, Josh Vickers, Joe Ward, Conor Washington, Kane Wilson.

First-team players leaving the club this summer

Dwight Gayle, Conor Hourihane, Scott Loach, Korey Smith, Martyn Waghorn, Joe Wildsmith.

First-team players out of contract and in discussion over their futures

James Collins, Louie Sibley.

First-team players at the end of loans with the club

Ebou Adams, Max Bird, Tyreece John-Jules.

First-team player at the end of loan with the club and signing permanently on 1st July

Corey Blackett-Taylor.


Under-21 players under contract for 2024/25

Max Bardell, Dajaune Brown, Harry Evans, Riley Moloney, Ben Radcliffe.

Under-21 players leaving the club this summer

Jack Bates, Alex Gibson-Hammond, Charlie Lindsay, Callum Moore, Eno Nto, Kwaku Oduroh, Owen Oseni, Carlos Richards, Lewis Ridd.

Under-21 player retiring from professional football

Bradley Johnson.

Under-21 players out of contract and in discussion about their futures

Ryan Bartley, Adebayo Fapetu, Tony Weston.

Under-18 players coming to end of scholarship and stepping up to Under-21 squad

Daniel Cox, Jaydan Davidson, Billy Gough, Harry Hawkins, Jack Perry, Keilen Robinson, Josh Shattell, Lennon Wheeldon.

Under-18 players beginning second year of scholarship in 2024/25

Cruz Allen, Demiane Augustien, Luke Banks, Owen Eames, Tristan Gill, Isaac Gordon, Niall McAndrew, Justin Oguntolu, Adisa Osayande, Johnson Osong, Harley Price, Marsel Tola, Jack Thompson.

Under-18 player coming to end of scholarship and not offered new terms

Farren Simons.