Derby County’s fixtures for the upcoming 2022/23 Sky Bet League One season are due to be announced this week.

The campaign will see Wayne Rooney’s side playing in the third tier since the mid-1980s after battling against a hefty 21-point deduction in the Championship during the 2021/22 season because of several off-field issues, including entering administration and a historical breach of profitability and sustainability rules.

We have compiled all the essential information and key dates you will need ahead of the fixtures being confirmed.

When are the fixtures released?

The 2022/23 Sky Bet EFL fixtures will be released on Thursday 23rd June 2022 at 9am.

When is the opening day of the season?

The opening fixtures of the 2022/23 season in League One will be played across the weekend of Saturday 30th and Sunday 31st July 2022.

When does the season finish?

The regular league season is due to conclude on the weekend of Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th May 2023.

The Sky Bet EFL Play-Offs will once again be staged at Wembley Stadium and conclude the season, with the League One Play-Off Final scheduled for Sunday 28th May 2023.

Who are the 24 teams in League One?

The confirmed teams in League One for the 2022/23 season are as follows: Accrington Stanley, Barnsley, Bolton Wanderers, Bristol Rovers, Burton Albion, Cambridge United, Charlton Athletic, Cheltenham Town, Derby County, Exeter City, Fleetwood Town, Forest Green Rovers, Ipswich Town, Lincoln City, MK Dons, Morecambe, Oxford United, Peterborough United, Plymouth Argyle, Port Vale, Portsmouth, Sheffield Wednesday, Shrewsbury Town, Wycombe Wanderers.

How many teams will Derby County face for the first-ever time in 2022/23?

Derby will face Cheltenham Town, Fleetwood Town and Morecambe for the first time in competitive matches during the season.

When are the international breaks?

There are no international breaks factored in the League One calendar, including when the 2022 FIFA World Cup is played in Qatar in November and December.

When is the draw for Round One of the Carabao Cup?

The Carabao Cup Round One draw will take place live on Sky Sports News at 2:30pm on Thursday 23rd June.

A total of 35 ties will be drawn for Round One, which will include Stockport County and Grimsby Town who are returning to the EFL after achieving promotion from the National League.

Burnley, Watford and the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe will join the competition in Round Two. Holders Liverpool, who overcame Chelsea in last season’s final at Wembley Stadium, will join in Round Three along with the other Premier League teams competing in Europe next season.

What ball number will Derby County be in the Round One draw?

Derby County have been given ball number 11 in the Northern Section of the Round One draw.

When is Round One of the Carabao Cup played?

Carabao Cup Round One ties are due to be played in the midweek of the week commencing Monday 8th August 2022.

When is the draw for the Group Games for the Papa Johns Trophy?

The Papa Johns Trophy Group Stage draw will take place live on Sky Sports News at 11:30am on Thursday 23rd June.

The 16 Invited Under-21 teams will be drawn into their respective Northern and Southern section Groups, with the 48 EFL clubs already placed into pre-determined Groups prior to the draw. Consideration has been given to ensure travel time is minimised and recovery time is maximised for players.

What Group will Derby County be in for the Papa Johns Trophy?

Derby County will be in Northern Group F alongside Mansfield Town and Grimsby Town, as well as one of the invited Under-21 teams.

When are the Group Games for the Papa Johns Trophy due to be played?

Once the Groups have been drawn for the Papa Johns Trophy the fixtures will be finalised, but the EFL have confirmed they will take place during the week commencing the specified dates.

Group Game One - Week starting 29th August 2022

Group Game Two - Week starting 19th September 2022

Group Game Three - Week starting 17th October 2022

All EFL clubs will play two of their three matches at home in the Group Stages.