Derby County’s on-loan central defender Matt Clarke has been crowned the Jack Stamps Player of the Season for the 2019/20 campaign.

The 23-year-old, who joined the Rams on a season-long loan from Premier League side Brighton & Hove Albion in August 2019, is only the second loan player to win the award, presented by Marston’s Brewery, following on from Fikayo Tomori in the 2018/19 season.

The award, voted for by the supporters, has been given to the defender following a week-long voting poll.

Clarke enjoyed a fine campaign for Derby during the season, making 37 appearances in all competitions and scoring one goal.

His single goal came in a 1-0 home victory over Hull City in January 2020 but it was his consistent performances at the back under manager Phillip Cocu which has set him apart during the season.

After impressing on his debut in a 2-1 opening day victory over Huddersfield Town at the John Smith’s Stadium last August, Clarke established himself as a key player at the heart of the defence.

Whilst he had to adapt his game to suit the style Cocu wanted his side to play, he remained solid and consistent in his performances which led the Rams to a late charge for the Sky Bet Championship play-off positions.

And those performances have earned him the Jack Stamps Player of the Season award and have put him amongst an illustrious list of Derby County greats.

The Derby County Jack Stamps Player of the Season award is presented by club partner Marston’s Brewery:


2019/20: Matt Clarke

2018/19: Fikayo Tomori

2017/18: Matej Vydra

2016/17: Scott Carson

2015/16: Richard Keogh

2014/15: Will Hughes

2013/14: Craig Bryson

2012/13: Richard Keogh

2011/12: Craig Bryson

2010/11: John Brayford

2009/10: Shaun Barker

2008/09: Rob Hulse

2007/08: The Fans

2006/07: Steve Howard

2005/06: Tommy Smith

2004/05: Inigo Idiakez

2003/04: Youl Mawene

2002/03: Giorgi Kinkladze

2001/02: Danny Higginbotham

2000/01: Chris Riggott

1999/00: Mart Poom

1998/99: Jacob Laursen

1997/98: Francesco Baiano

1996/97: Chris Powell

1995/96: Dean Yates

1994/95: Craig Short

1993/94: Martin Taylor

1992/93: Marco Gabbiadini

1991/92: Ted McMinn

1990/91: Dean Saunders

1989/90: Mark Wright

1988/89: Mark Wright

1987/88: Michael Forsyth

1986/87: Geraint Williams

1985/86: Ross MacLaren

1984/85: Bobby Davison

1983/84: Archie Gemmill

1982/83: Steve Cherry

1981/82: Steve Buckley

1980/81: Roger Jones

1979/80: Steve Buckley

1978/79: Steve Powell

1977/78: David Langan

1976/77: Leighton James

1975/76: Charlie George

1974/75: Peter Daniel

1973/74: Ron Webster

1972/73: Kevin Hector

1971/72: Colin Todd

1970/71: Dave Mackay

1969/70: John O'Hare

1968/69: Roy McFarland