Derby County’s supporters have named Graeme Shinnie as their winner of the Jack Stamps Player of the Season for the 2020/21 campaign.

The award has been given to the midfielder following a week-long voting poll, which concluded on Friday afternoon, on

The 29-year-old Scotsman was a regular in the Derby side throughout the campaign and he racked up 43 appearances in all competitions, with only Jason Knight and Matt Clarke appearing on more occasions.

Shinnie also found the back of the net three times in the season in the Sky Bet Championship, during which time Derby never tasted defeat.

Two of the Scotland international’s goals came from the penalty spot in the vital victories over Birmingham City in December and Luton Town in April.

His other goal came in Derby’s 1-1 draw at AFC Bournemouth at the end of October.

Shinnie’s wholehearted and never-say-die displays in the middle of the park made him a regular in the starting line-up during the season and especially under Wayne Rooney after he took over as manager towards the end of 2020.

He also wore the captain’s armband in the closing weeks of the season, demonstrating his natural leadership skills having fulfilled the same role as his previous clubs, as Rooney’s side preserved their Championship status for the 2021/22 campaign.

Shinnie, who began his career at Inverness Caledonian Thistle in Scotland, has made 70 appearances for Derby since arriving from Scottish Premiership outfit Aberdeen as a free agent in the summer of 2019.

During that time he has also scored five goals and been a consistent performer for the Rams.


2020/21: Graeme Shinnie

2019/20: Matt Clarke

2018/19: Fikayo Tomori

2017/18: Matej Vydra

2016/17: Scott Carson

2015/16: Richard Keogh

2014/15: Will Hughes

2013/14: Craig Bryson

2012/13: Richard Keogh

2011/12: Craig Bryson

2010/11: John Brayford

2009/10: Shaun Barker

2008/09: Rob Hulse

2007/08: The Fans

2006/07: Steve Howard

2005/06: Tommy Smith

2004/05: Inigo Idiakez

2003/04: Youl Mawene

2002/03: Giorgi Kinkladze

2001/02: Danny Higginbotham

2000/01: Chris Riggott

1999/00: Mart Poom

1998/99: Jacob Laursen

1997/98: Francesco Baiano

1996/97: Chris Powell

1995/96: Dean Yates

1994/95: Craig Short

1993/94: Martin Taylor

1992/93: Marco Gabbiadini

1991/92: Ted McMinn

1990/91: Dean Saunders

1989/90: Mark Wright

1988/89: Mark Wright

1987/88: Michael Forsyth

1986/87: Geraint Williams

1985/86: Ross MacLaren

1984/85: Bobby Davison

1983/84: Archie Gemmill

1982/83: Steve Cherry

1981/82: Steve Buckley

1980/81: Roger Jones

1979/80: Steve Buckley

1978/79: Steve Powell

1977/78: David Langan

1976/77: Leighton James

1975/76: Charlie George

1974/75: Peter Daniel

1973/74: Ron Webster

1972/73: Kevin Hector

1971/72: Colin Todd

1970/71: Dave Mackay

1969/70: John O'Hare

1968/69: Roy McFarland