Derby County have been handed an away tie against Grimsby Town in the First Round of the newly-branded Carabao Cup.

The draw took place in Bangkok, Thailand just after 1pm UK time today and was also streamed live here on

World Cup winner Emmanuel Petit, Carabao CEO Sathien Setthasit, British Ambassador to Thailand Brian Davidson and EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey unveiled the 35 ties from the home of the competition’s title sponsor, Carabao Energy Drink.

Seventy EFL clubs were in the draw with matches scheduled to take place week commencing 7th August – with the match date and ticketing details to be confirmed in due course.

Derby and Grimsby, ironically, went head-to-head in the competition last season, with Richard Keogh's second half header handing the Rams a 1-0 home victory at Pride Park Stadium.

Grimsby finished 14th in League 2 last season and are now managed by Russell Slade.

Their squad contains former Rams midfielder Ben Davies and Luke Summerfield, the son of Derby's Assistant Manager Kevin Summerfield.

The draw was regionalised to minimise travelling time for supporters in with seeding decided by a club’s finishing position in the EFL in 2016/17, in addition to being seeded.


Northern Section

Coventry City v Blackburn Rovers

Nottingham Forest v Shrewsbury Town

Bradford City v Doncaster Rovers

Mansfield Town v Rochdale

Grimsby Town v Derby County

Barnsley v Morecambe

Crewe Alexandra v Bolton Wanderers

Oldham Athletic v Burton Albion

Wigan Athletic v Blackpool

Bury v Sunderland

Sheffield Wednesday v Chesterfield

Accrington Stanley v Preston North End

Fleetwood Town v Carlisle United

Sheffield United v Walsall

Scunthorpe United v Notts County

Rotherham United v Lincoln City

Leeds United v Port Vale

Southern Section

Birmingham City v Crawley Town

Exeter City v Charlton Athletic

QPR v Northampton Town

Newport County v Southend United

Bristol City v Plymouth Argyle

Cardiff City v Portsmouth

Millwall v Stevenage

Oxford United v Cheltenham

AFC Wimbledon v Brentford

Norwich City v Swindon Town

Bristol Rovers v Cambridge United

Peterborough United v Barnet

Wycombe Wanderers v Fulham

Colchester United v Aston Villa

Wolves v Yeovil Town

Reading v Gillingham

Forest Green Rovers v MK Dons

Luton Town v Ipswich Town